Bunty goes to Highley

Woops you can't see the river, it's behind me.

Woops you can't see the river, it's behind me.

I have had a very exciting weekend, on Sunday I went to Highley to hop the Highley trail. The trail starts at the visitors centre and I had to hop down a gravely path to the river which is called the River Severn, then along to Stanley where I should have hopped up some steps and over the railway line, but these steps had a sign on that said CLOSED so I had to hop down the river a little bit more and then up a big hill to Highley Station, where I saw Thomas, but he had lost his face!
hello, Thomas?

hello, Thomas?

I then hopped on to the Mining Wheel sculpture which is dedicated to all the local miners. I think that miners must be very brave people, they go down big holes to dig out coal and it’s all dark and dirty. I would be very scared, and I think all the miners should get free carrots.

I hopped on through cuttings and sandstone houses into Highley where there should have been a gate to go through, but it was locked so I squeezed through the bars. Then I had a hop around Highley Church which is really pretty inside. After I came out of the church I hopped down to the village and had a look at the clock sculpture which was put up in 1999, it has a miner in a lift at the bottom and is very big!

Then it was a very long hop to Country Park Halt, I sat on the platform and took my hat, gloves and scarf off as it had got very hot. Then I heard a very loud toot toot it mad me jump and I did wonder if it was something I had done, then round the corner came a big steam train. It was very exciting, I want to have a ride on one now.

I want a go

I want a go

More of my photo’s are in the side bar

Keep Hopping

Highley info

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rach said,

    Hi Bunty,

    I did read all the exciting news on your site but I omitted to place a comment. I am sorry.

    I am so looking forward to meeting you and trying a cake the you have made 🙂

    Lots of Love

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. 2

    buntybunny said,

    Hi Rach, can I call you aunty? I like it when people hop by and leave their words, it makes me feel all warm inside.

    Mommy said she will show me how to make my cake make you go WOW. Won’t that be fun?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave me your words

