Bunty goes camping at Cannock Chase

I have been on another adventure in the caravan, this time I went to Cannock Chase.
The caravan was popped next to a garden which was full of birds, like peacocks and other birds I have never seen before. It was so funny to hear them all singing their songs along with all the other woodland birds and a little woodpecker that came every morning making his rat-tat-tat-tat noise right above me.

Now what do I do?

Now what do I do?

On Saturday after breakfast I decided to hop the Marquis’s drive and Castle Ring walk. I had to hop up a very steep hill first then down a little road and passed two little houses which had very unfriendly dogs in the garden. As I hopped by they barked and barked, I was a little bit scared they would jump over the fence, so I hopped a little quicker. After a very long hop I came to a tree that had fell over the path, I didn’t think I would be able to get round it as it was very muddy and I knew I couldn’t hop over it, it was much too high. So I squeezed underneath it.

Castle Ring

Castle Ring


After a lot more hopping I got to Castle Ring and had a hop around the top. There’s not a castle there any more, it wasn’t really a castle anyway it was more of a fort. A couple of dogs were chasing each other around the top and stopped just long enough to tell me that sometimes people re-enact battles here, but not today. That would have been fun to watch. Then it was time to make my long way back down all the big hills, which was a lot easer.

The entrance to the camp.

The entrance to the camp.

On Sunday I went for a hop into the centre of the Chase, first I had to hop down a hill and over a railway line, making sure there were no trains and that I hopped quickly but safely across. Then up the very big very steep Kit bag Hill, a few more hops and I came to a big sign that said Hednesford R A F camp. I didn’t know what an R A F camp was, I though there might be more caravans with bunnies there. But then I read the information board and found out that R A F stands for Royal Air Force, and this camp is where men lived and trained in the war. War is a nasty thing I think. So I went to have a look, there’s nothing there now just grass and trees, but it made me feel a little sad.

windy

windy

I hopped a little further to the Visitor centre and had a look at the big map, I thought I would be able to hop to the next visitors centre which was right on the other side of the Chase so I set off down this path

just what I need

just what I need

The hop was a little longer than I thought it would be and I had to stop for a rest and a drink of carrot juice. After having a rest, I set of back to camp; it took me a very long time to get back because I hadn’t realized how far I had hopped!

I need to soak my paws, they hurt

I need to soak my paws, they hurt

castle ring info

Cannock chase info

more photos on the side bar
Keep Hopping

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Bunty goes camping at Cannock Chase April 2009 3 […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave me your words

