Bunty goes to Shugborough Country Show

shugborough  game show 302Hello,
I have been on another adventure, this time to a country show. It was in the grounds of a big house called Shugborough Hall, but I didn’t hop into the house, there was just so much to see at the show. A country Show as lots of thing to see, there were stalls selling all sorts of pretty things made from wood and shiny jewellery, toys and lots of things to eat and drink. There were also people giving demonstrations, (that means showing you how to do something), of how to make Besom brooms like the one my people mommy has in her kitchen.

The best bit was all of the animals, first I went to look at the goats, one of the baby goats looked a bit grumpy and when I asked him why wasn’t he playing with the other goats he told me it was because he was sulking because he didn’t like being in the naughty pen, and when I asked him why he had to sit in the naughty pen he told me it was because he kept getting out of the big pen and it wasn’t fair because his brother was still in the big pen. I hop over to see his brother who was happily eating the grass, he told me his brother was always  getting out and his people were worried he would get hurt so that’s why they put him in the little pen. Then I hopped over to the Birds of prey, they all looked very proud, I told the owls that I thought they were very handsome and Willow the Falcon started complaining that he was handsome too, I told him that I thought he was handsome but I hadn’t got round to his part of the tent to take a better look, and he told me he ate bunnies. I don’t think I like Willow. Then I hopped over to look at the hens with their pretty feathers. Soon it was time to find a chair because the big shows were about to start.

The first animals were the miniature Ponies, they are very small.  After they had walked around the ring and said hello to everyone they had a race, Tommy won, he loves to run very fast. I liked the miniature ponies they were very sweet. The next animals to come into the ring were Horkesley Parks’s heavy horses, oh my they are so big, I was a little scared. The horses are called Suffolk Punches and there are only 450 of them left in the whole wide world, that is a shame because they are really very nice, even if they are very big. One of the horses pulled a big log behind him and he could get it to go through very little gaps between cones, I thought he was so clever.

Then it was the working dogs, these made me laugh. The first dog was a little puppy and he was getting very confused because he could hear his masters voice coming out of the loudspeaker but could see him in front of him, next the man brought on a black labrador who he had just started to train, he was a bit naught and made every body laugh when he ran out of the ring into the crowd. The next two dogs were supposed to show us how good they are at stopping and waiting to be called, the man threw two toys into two different corners of the ring and the dogs sat and waited to be told to fetch them, but the labrador from earlier got off his lead and ran into the ring and chased after the toys, that made every body laugh again.

The next bit was very frighting people on big horses with very brightly coloured clothes and big lances went racing around the ring hitting targets. Then they hit each other! They rode very fast, I though they might come out and ride over people. I looked at my program and saw that this was called Jousting and it used to be done a very long time ago, it was very exciting and once I understood that they were only playing I really enjoyed it. At the end of the show the presenter introduce the riders and one of them was a lady called Hannah Pusey Hill and she is the only lady jouster in the world, (I think that’s what he said), I though she was very brave, I don’t think I would like to fight like she did and I wouldn’t like to fall off my horse like she did even if it is only playing!

I then went to look at the goats and the lady told us all about which goats are best for what. Some goats make good lawn mowers, I thought that was funny, they like to eat grass and nettles. Some goats are good for food and some are good for giving milk, then there are some that give nice soft wool. My people mommy likes goats and wishes she could have one, or two or lots.

After the goats it was the turn of the terriers, they were very funny too. They had to try to catch a very smelly ball on a piece of rope, they were really enjoying themselves, then the presenter asked some children to come into the ring to race against the dogs, oh dear there were children running all over the place. Then it was the turn of any dogs in the crowd to have a go at catching the ball. The first dog was brought on by his people daddy and when he was released he ran straight back to his people mommy, the next one just ran off and the next one caught the ball then tried to eat it.

Then it time for the birds of prey to show off, I think they must have been too hot because none of them wanted to fly to far. The big owl just sat on the post and his handler had to come right up to him to get him take the meat. He said he didn’t feel like flying around and he  knew his people would  feed him  whether he showed off or not. Then it was the Falcons turn, they flew around the ring and landed on peoples hands.

I Hopped over to the Punch and Judy show, I had never seen one of these before, it was a big stripy box with a little window cut out of the top, the curtains opened and up popped a puppet called Mr. Punch . We all had to shout out and tell Mr Punch  where the other puppets were and when he said ‘That’s the way to do it’ we had to shout out ‘Oh no it isn’t’. There was a funny Crocodile who ate all of  the sausages.  Mr Punch is very naughty he threw the baby down the stairs, hit Mrs punch, hit the doctor, and Joey the clown, then a ghost came and scared Mr. Punch away.

When Punch had finished I hopped over to see the ferret racing, ferrets are funny little long animals who seem to like running through pipes, one of them ran down his pipe and then turned round and ran back up it again.

I didn’t get to talk to a lot of the animals because they were all very busy and tired, I was tired to so I hopped home and went to bed

Keep hopping

you can leave me your words

love Bunty

XX

My photos

shugborough info

Besom broom

Horkseley park

knights of the damned

Punch and Judy

Leave me your words

