Bunty makes Hot Cross Buns

bunnybuns 007Hello, I have been baking, as it is nearly Easter I thought it would be nice to bake some Hot Cross Buns.
I needed
1lb Strong White Flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground mixed spice
¼ teaspoon grated nutmeg
2oz-60g sugar
1oz, (30g) of fresh yeast or ½oz active dry yeast
6 fl oz warm milk
1 beaten egg
6oz – 60g mixed fruit

2 tablespoons of sugar dissolved in 2 tablespoons of warm milk.

bunnybuns 001

Because I was using dried yeast I had to make it come alive by mixing it with a little of the warmed milk and a teaspoon of the sugar and leave it in a warm place to bubble. So if you are using dried yeast do this first.

Then I had to mix the flour and the spices together, the spices smelt lovely, then I had to rub in the butter until it went all crumbly. Then I added the sugar and gave it a good stir. (If you are using fresh yeast you now have to mix one teaspoon of the sugar into the yeast and the n mix in the milk). Next I had to mix the egg, milk and yeast into the flour and mix it all together.

bunnybuns 002
Next I had to put some flour on a board and tip the dough out and knead it, this means squeezing and pulling it until it is nice and smooth. This was lots of fun, then I had to pop it back into the bowl and cover it over with cling film and leave it in a warm place for 1 hour…
bunnybuns 003

…and it grows, look at how big it got. Next I had to pop the dough onto the board and knead in the fruit until it was all used up
bunnybuns 004

and make into a sausage shape then I cut it into 12 pieces and rolled them into cake shapes. I had to use a very shape knife to cut a cross shape into the top.  (Hot cross buns have icing crosses on them now but this is an old recipe and the crosses were made differently then).bunnybuns 005

I put them on a try and covered them again and again they had to be left this time for 25 minutes. So I lit the oven on gas mark 6 400 °f  200°c. After the 25 minutes the buns went into the oven for 18 minutes, then I had to paint them with the sugar and milk and put them back into the oven for 2 minutes. When the buns were cooked I left them to cool.
bunnybuns 006

They were yum

Keep hopping love Bunty

Leave me your words

