Bunty Goes to Hanbury

Hanbury walk 015 Hello.

I have been on a long hop called the Hanbury Circular Walk. I started my hop at a place called Jinney Ring Pond, the pond is part of a place called Jinney Ring Craft Centre, it has lots of little shops selling all sorts of pretty things. I didn’t buy anything because I didn’t want to take it on my hop.
First of all I had a chat to the ducks on the pond. Deffer duck told me that the hop I was going to do was a nice one and that he hoped I had my strong legs on because there was a very steep hill to hop up, I told him I would take my time and he laughed.

 

I started by hopping through a very pretty garden and into a big field and through a gate into another field which had lots of peas growing in it, I like peas we grow them at home. I then had to hop across a road being very careful to remember to look and listen for cars and lorries. I hopped up a little road and went through another gate and onto Hanbury grounds. I then hopped down a long line of Oak tree, I got a little scared here because there were a lot of bees swarming, They didn’t seem bothered about me, they all seemed very busy doing whatever it was they were doing, but I still hopped passed very quickly.

I then had to hop through some very long grass where some dogs were playing, they were having too much fun to stop and talk so I carried on into the grazing area. There were sheep in this field, lots of them and the babies kept wandering away and the mommy sheep had to keep bleating for them to come back. Sara told me she wished her babies would go to sleep as it was much to hot to keep running after them. I got a little lost on the next bit because I missed a little gate hidden behind some trees, but it didn’t take me long to workout that I had missed the gate, so I turned round and found the gate and was back on the right hop. This part was along a narrow track and under the trees which was nice as it was getting very hot, I hopped by a little pond and watched the dragonflies playing, they told me they were pleased the sun had come out at long last as they didn’t like the rain. I then came to another gate where I meet Libby the ladybird, she was enjoying the sunshine too. She told me she was taking a break because she had had a very busy morning helping the farmer. I asked her what she had been doing on the farm and she told me she worked in the fields eating all the greenfly, I think she was fibbing a little bit because I had seen the farmer spraying the fields, I do hope she didn’t eat the sprayed bugs get a tummy ache. Next I had to hop up Summer Hill, it wasn’t a very big hill and there was a little track to follow so I didn’t have to go through all the very long grass, then I hopped over a little bridge and went down onto the Birmingham and Worcester canal path.  I had to be very careful along here as part of the path had been washed away and the canal was coming onto the path, it was very slippy and a little bit scary. I hopped on and on being very quiet as there were mommy and baby ducks fast asleep on the banks and I didn’t want to wake them up. just in case the babies had been playing their mommies up like Sara’s babies had. Next it was another hop through fields until I came to Piper’s Hill.  Piper’s Hill is a very old woodland, some of the trees are 400 years old, that’s very old indeed and lots of wild life lives there. I didn’t have to go all the way through the woods, just a little way along the edge.  Then I came to the very steep hill up to St. Mary the Virgin Church. My little legs were hurting by the time I had got to the top. This church is called Hanbury church and the church on the hill as well. It has a very old grave yard. The inside of the church is very pretty and there is a memorial to Thomas Vernon who was a very kind man and did lots of nice things for the people who lived in the village. The memorial is a statue of him lying on a big seat with two ladies by the side of him, one is called learning and the other justice. Justice used to have little brass scales, but a very naught person took them, that’s very naughty you shouldn’t take things that don’t belong to you.

I then just had to hop down another big hill and back through the pea fields to Jinney’s pond and the hop was all finished. I was very hot and tired so I came home for a carrot and a nap.

Keep hopping love Bunty

My photos

Walk info
Jinney ring info
Deffer Ducks blog
Hanbury Hall info
Piper’s Hill info
St Mary the Virgin info

Leave me your words

